This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Eritrea

Eritrea is made up of 6 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Eritrea. Information on all primary administrative regions in Eritrea.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Eritrea alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Eritrea

There are 6 regions in Eritrea in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Eritrea
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Anseba Anseba Region1.611,627Keren Keren74,800
Debub Debub Region2.1,476,765Mendefera Mendefera17,781
Gash Barka Gash-Barka Region3.786,964Barentu Barentu15,891
Maekel Region Maekel Region4.766,534Asmara Asmara563,930
Northern Red Sea Region Northern Red Sea Region5.599,304Massawa Massawa23,100
Southern Red Sea Region Southern Red Sea Region6.289,382Assab Assab21,300